Faculty Directory
Teri Odom

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and (by courtesy) Professor of Materials Science and Engineering


2190 Campus Drive
Ryan Hall 2014
Evanston, IL 60208

Email Teri Odom


The Odom Group


Materials Science and Engineering


PhD Program in Interdisciplinary Biological Sciences

Research Interests

Nanofabrication, plasmonic materials and characterization, nano-lasers, bioimaging.

Significant Recognition

  • Phi Beta Kappa, Stanford University, 1996
  • S.S. & I.M.F. Marsden Memorial Prize for Chemistry Research, Stanford University, 1996
  • NSF Predoctoral Fellowship, Harvard University, 1996-99
  • White Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Physics Teaching, Harvard University, 1999
  • IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists, 2001
  • Australian Journal of Chemistry Top Prize, 2001
  • NIH NRSA Postdoctoral Fellowship, Harvard University, 2001-2002
  • Dow Teacher-Scholar Award, Northwestern University, 2002-2004
  • Research Innovation Award, Northwestern University, 2002
  • Hewlett Funding for Undergraduate Innovation in Teaching, Northwestern Universty, 2002
  • Victor K. LaMer Award (ACS Colloids and Surface Chemistry), 2003
  • Searle Fellow, Northwestern University, 2003-2004
  • David and Lucille Packard Fellowship, Northwestern University, 2003-2007
  • NSF CAREER Award, Northwestern University, 2004-2008
  • NSF NUE Award, Northwestern University, 2004-2006
  • Named to the MIT Technology Review TR100 as "one of the world’s top young innovators", 2004
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, 2005
  • DuPont Young Investigator Grant, 2005
  • Cottrell Scholar Award (Research Corporation), 2005
  • ExxonMobil Solid State Chemistry Faculty Fellowship, 2006
  • Rohm and Haas New Faculty Award, 2007
  • NIH Director's Pioneer Award, 2008
  • Named to the 2016 class of AMerican Chemical Society Fellows and 2016 Materials Research Society Fellows